Author Topic: NEW TO SUNN  (Read 2482 times)

Offline LPB

NEW TO SUNN
« on: September 19, 2010, 02:04:22 pm »

Hi, brand new here. I'm still learning how to navigate around the Page, but I've done some searches and gotten some great info.

I just recently snagged a 200S amp and matching 2x15 cab. It all seems pretty legit and in good order. There's no date/stickers anywhere on the amp, there is some scribble on the underside of the chassis, but no date. I took the back off the cab and there's nothing in there either. It's does not have the 'R' on the logo. I'm wondering what the year spread I'm working with and if there's anyway to narrow it down.

I'm also looking to get her cleaned, checked and probably capped. Is there anything specific I should keep in mind here, or is it a pretty straightforward operation.

Thank You,

LPB

Offline CLD

• Sunn Sorado
Re: NEW TO SUNN
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2010, 06:40:18 am »
Check the date codes on the pots and other components.

If you haven't been able to play your 200S much yet, believe me when I say you now have one of the best bass amplification rigs ever!
Sunn since June 1971!
1971 Sorado, 2000S, Coliseum Bass, Coliseum Lead
1970 200S; 1974 Coliseum 880

Offline LPB

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2010, 06:21:04 pm »
Check the date codes on the pots and other components.

If you haven't been able to play your 200S much yet, believe me when I say you now have one of the best bass amplification rigs ever!

Will do! I don't know why I didn't think of that, thank you so much!!

I had been looking for an all tube rig to play my P bass through. I gigged it last night and it was pretty unbelievable. I had the Low Boost on, Volume between 4 and 5, Treble between 2 and 3 and the Bass between 3 and 4. It's been a lot of years since I actually stood in front of a "real bass amp".

HOLY.......WOW!!!!

Offline LPB

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2010, 09:30:47 pm »