Author Topic: OT....Bass Set Up  (Read 3296 times)

Offline Greg_M

OT....Bass Set Up
« on: March 23, 2011, 02:05:27 pm »
I got to looking around for instructions on how to check the neck and bridge and what not and ran across a couple youtube videos that made it all pretty easy.
There's few out there but this guy seemed pretty clear headed and made the most sense to me.

Lakland Bass Setup With Carl Pedigo (Part 1 of 2)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIzV9462xeE&feature=related

Lakland Bass Setup With Carl Pedigo (Part 2 of 2)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4MdWzN_100&NR=1

So I watched them both and gathered my tools.
Things I found out

I went to Home Depot and got an 18" steel rule.....BUT....I had to check 3 of them before I found one that had flat (straight) edges.
Don't count on steel rulers to have flat edges. I am a machinist so I have a granite inspection plate which is certified flat and I checked the 18" rule when I got back and it was straight and flat. Lucky me.
Use other rulers at HD to check each other. By a process of elimination you can find a flat (straight) one, but it does take a little work. Either that or spend a pile of dough and buy one that is certified straight from a machine shop supply place. I didn't have an 18" ruler so I had to go to HD

Home Depot does not have feeler gauges. Try a car parts store.

The measurements he uses for string heights are in (64s) He also uses terms like 1/4 of a 64th which is a bit confusing.
Here's what his recommended clearances are in decimals

G    0.078"
D    0.082"
A    0.086"
E    0.090"

Because I have a shop, I have a "pin set". It is made up of many little round steel "dowels" which are graduated in 0.001". Each one a thousandth bigger than the previous one. So I was able to use the appropriate pins for clearance measurements. Normally they are used for measuring hole sizes and what not.