Author Topic: Beta Lead 'both inputs' -> No Sound / No LEDs  (Read 2305 times)

Offline marvin

Beta Lead 'both inputs' -> No Sound / No LEDs
« on: March 27, 2018, 04:11:44 pm »
Hi folks,

first of all I am new to Sunn amps, but I had the chance to get myself a cheap beta lead combo, so I took it without thinking twice or testing the amp.
Both channels and their LEDs work fine separately, but when I use the 'both inputs' jack, there is no sound and both LEDs are off.
However, when I use a second cable to connect the channel A and channel B jacks, the channels are combined, both LEDs are on and everything (sound, knobs) works as expected.
But thats not how it is supposed to work, right?  :?

I used some contact spray on the input jacks, but that does not seem to solve the problem.  :-D

Any ideas, what might be the problem here? Thanks  :-)

Offline Isaac

• Global Moderator
Re: Beta Lead 'both inputs' -> No Sound / No LEDs
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2018, 12:54:58 pm »
My first thought is a bad connection.
Isaac

Offline loudthud

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2018, 11:59:59 pm »
The input jacks on the Beta series amps are actually stereo jacks like you find on the input of just about any pedal or stomp box. The contact that would normally contact the "Ring" is grounded when a mono phone plug (normal guitar cord) in inserted. This is how the Beta amp detects which jack you plug your guitar into. Either there is a defect in the internal circuitry, or the jack is just dirty and the contact in not grounding to you guitar cord. If you do not have the training to safely work inside the amp, I strongly suggest you take the amp to someone who is qualified to work on it.

Offline marvin

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2018, 06:40:08 pm »
I verified that there is no bad connection between the jacks and the circuit board. Also the Ring of all 3 input jacks is grounded when a cable is plugged in.

Offline marvin

« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2018, 12:49:57 pm »