Author Topic: Help with DIY 200S Build  (Read 5343 times)

Offline SUNNDAVE

Help with DIY 200S Build
« on: March 06, 2016, 10:08:45 pm »
Hello sunn forum!

I am a first-time builder who became enamored with the Sunn 200S but had difficulty finding one, so I decided to build it!  I've been using this forum as a touchstone and it's been very helpful but I'm struggling with a problem now (or maybe a few problems) and perhaps someone here can help.  I used this schematic, almost to the letter but with a few modifications:

• I got rid of the polarity switch and death cap and added an equipment ground for a 3-prong cord
  • I used a 6.3v lamp wired up from the PT tap along with the filaments instead of a 120v lamp
  • My rectifier is a WZ34 Copper Cap solid-state replacement
  • I did (somewhat foolishly) elect to stick with the old filter cap, I know that combo with the WZ34 means I'm pushing the 525v limit but I am using a Variac to dial down the wall voltage to compensate for now
  • I did away with that weird output impedance-switching silliness and just hard-wired in a 4 ohm and 8 ohm jack (I will only ever use 1 cab at a time for it anyway)
  • Wherever possible I got the exact value capacitors, but some like the 50uF bias caps are hard to find so I just used 47uF caps
  • The only other notable departure from the schematic is the 390PF coupling capacitor coming off point E near the OT there.  I got lazy and didn't feel like waiting for another mail order, so I popped in an extra 470PF cap I had lying around.  I'm not sure if that was ok or not...