Author Topic: Hello from a New Guy  (Read 2306 times)

Offline Jeff Troy

Hello from a New Guy
« on: March 12, 2010, 11:40:36 am »
New here, but an old hand and a big fan of Sunn equipment.

I haven't performed much since 1980, but did more than my share till then. Recently had a bug to get some old gear and put a small jam group together in the basement.

Originally a guitar player, I started playing bass in 1963 with a white Fender Bassman amp and a blonde (both bought new in '63 at Jimmy's in NYC) Precision Bass. Later, I had a pair of Vox Super Beatle amps for awhile, then switched over to Sunn in the late '60's. My Sunn setup was a pair of 2000S heads with four 2000S cabinets, each carrying two Altec 421A 15-inch speakers. You can probably imagine that I'm drooling as I type.

I played that P-Bass till the mid-1960's, then swapped an old country guy in Ohio for his early Precision Bass (SN 000217). Stupidly, I smashed it up on a gig I don't even remember, but I do remember splitting the body down the center and putting the head stock right through the speakers in the Beatle cabinet.

I traded the remains of my classic Precision to Tim Bogert, who gave me a then-new Jazz Bass and an Eko violin bass just to get the pickup. I put a Precision neck on the Jazz bass for its wider area, then chucked it soon afterward for a newly introduced Dan Armstrong bass in 1969. Dan had a guitar shop on 49th Street at the time, and made a number of mods to my guitar player's equipment. I bought the Armstrong sight-unseen, just for knowing Dan's work first hand. Best move I ever made.

The combination of an original Armstrong through that Sunn rig was amazing, and until very recently, I've played no other bass but the Armstrong ever since I got it. Unfortunately, my Sunn rig was stolen on a gig in the mid-70's.