Author Topic: Which cabinet with Sunn 200S?  (Read 5384 times)

Offline saturnzreturn

Which cabinet with Sunn 200S?
« on: March 17, 2008, 01:18:09 pm »
Hello

I'm really new with Sunn amps, but I bought a 200S today.

My plan was to buy a bassamp which works great with guitar also. I tried to find a Fender Bassman (silverface) head, but then I found this incredible amp, Sunn 200S. After testing I just bought it.

My problem is that I only have the head now. I would like to buy a guitar cabinet and a bass cabinet (because I play both) for this amp but which cabinets works best with this incredible head. I tested the thing through 4 x 10" Fender guitar cabinet from the 80's which had eminence speakers in it and it sounded great but it left me wondering if there's an even better solution..

edit: by the way, how to recognize what year this amp was made?
« Last Edit: March 17, 2008, 02:21:34 pm by saturnzreturn »

Offline Soundmasterg

Re: Which cabinet with Sunn 200S?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2008, 02:22:07 pm »
It was designed to work with a 2x15 cabinet that was ported and rear-loaded and used two JBL D140's. It works fine with guitar for some, but was designed to be a bass amp. It will work best with the original style cabinet, especially for bass, but really it will work with any cabinet as long as you match up the cabinet impedance with the impedance of the amp.

Greg

Offline made by hand

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2008, 04:54:19 pm »