Author Topic: That great Leslie West tone  (Read 11762 times)

Offline Red Rocket

That great Leslie West tone
« on: January 01, 2011, 10:26:41 am »
Hello, newbie here. Not long ago, I managed to acquire a minty 57 LP Junior. Some of my Les Paul buds suggested I check out Leslie West for some vintage tone. A couple of days ago I came across this youtube clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UtrEL3Ry3X8&feature=fvw

Needless to say, this clip blew me away - MONSTER tone! So ever since I've been researching Sunn and trying to learn as much as I can about the LW rig on "Flowers of Evil".  I understand he was using a Sunn Coliseum PA head, this interview here is a bit confusing http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:PiIQXfRtN1cJ:www.richbriere.com/Sunn_Shack_2.htm+Sunn+Colosseum+PA&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ca&client=firefox-a   because it indicates the same name was used for a tube amp as well as solid state? Also the early tube heads were 4- KT88's, then later 6550's - no word on which setup LW used.

I was wondering if anyone here could clarify that. Also, I'd be interested if you ever hear of a Coliseum coming up for sale.

peace, RR (here's my current rig)

Offline biltmore

• The Sound Choice
Re: That great Leslie West tone
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2011, 11:26:42 am »
I believe he was using the 4xkt88 tube pa. Watched an interview not too long ago and he was talking about it. Hmm...

Offline dc10bass

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2011, 08:07:58 pm »
Hey RR,

AWESOME RIG!
I bet that Les Paul Jr. sounds mint!

In this interview Leslie talks about Sunn gear.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vf9WRHMB-DE

If you watch this clip from 1970, you will see what Leslie is using.
I believe they are Sunn 100S heads.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zybhcEnaYa4

So if the clip you posted is from 1971 my guess is that he was getting that sound with Sunn 100S heads.

I hope this helps you!

Good Luck!
Curt

Offline Red Rocket

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2011, 07:56:33 am »