Author Topic: Smiley face Sunn amp head.  (Read 1908 times)

Offline vertigolady

Smiley face Sunn amp head.
« on: August 21, 2008, 07:28:50 pm »
Hello everyone, I am new to this and am not even sure if I know how to post but I'll try. The reason I'm here is cause I love vintage guitar and amps and am an aspiring collector. I have recently been lucky enough to get my paws on an old smiley face Sunn head. I didn't know much about it when I found it but I knew the logo was different from any I had ever seen and I thought the tolex was a homemade re-do but I read a little on the unofficial web site and figured it must be on of the early garage made amps. In any case, I don't have a cab for it so I used a 2 12 inch vintage fender jensens in a generic 2x12 cab just to hear it and Oh My God this thing sounds amazing. It is very clean and the bass response even with only those two fenders sounded ballsy and thick. Everything on it is original or at least looks that way and I will post pics as soon as I get a chance. I am out of town right now and not in front of it. I wish I was so I could use it but I'll have to wait till I get back. The only issue is it seems to have some noise once it warms up and it gets a little noisier after playing it for a little while. Say 5 minutes. I guess the caps need replacing but I want to enjoy it and hear it before I change anything on it. Can anyone help me by steering me in the right direction for a cap job. What do I need to watch out for? what are the pitfalls? How do I find someone to do it right? I live in a small town and don't have any large reputable service shops nearby.

Offline EdBass

• Global Moderator
Re: Smiley face Sunn amp head.
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2008, 09:05:27 pm »
Welcome aboard!