Author Topic: cleaning pots in sunn sorado & coliseum 880  (Read 1426 times)

Offline greg_g

cleaning pots in sunn sorado & coliseum 880
« on: August 15, 2005, 03:03:45 am »
i'm totally new to amplifier maintenance/repair.  i recently acquired a coliseum 880 and a sorado, and both sound great except for scratchy pots.  how would i go about cleaning or replacing the pots for these amps--do i need to open the amp or faceplate up, or just pop the knobs off?  also, what sort of cleaner would i use, and what area of the pot would i apply it once i'm inside?  sorry about the novice questions!  perhaps a link to a step-by-step online guide would be good... or let me know if this is the sort of thing to take it to a repair shop... it seems like most folks just say "oh yeah, clean the pots a bit, easy" but i'm not sure...

thanks!

Offline ChrisCloutier

« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2005, 08:13:16 am »
Greg,  here's a few links discussing pot cleanup procedures:

http://www.hoffmanamps.com/charts/fenderservice2.htm
http://www.kbapps.com/tubecare.html

Hope that helps!

Chris

Offline greg_g

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2005, 12:28:43 pm »
yeah that's in the right direction.  my only remaining question would be whether i'd need to disassemble the amp, or can i just pop the various knobs off... "...by spraying contract cleaner through the openings in their covers" from the second page seems to indicate that just taking knobs off the way to do it, but i'd like to be sure before trying anything i'll regret.

thanks again.

Anonymous

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2005, 12:43:21 am »