Author Topic: 100s Help  (Read 2374 times)

Offline mattelliott2

100s Help
« on: June 19, 2012, 03:19:35 pm »
Hi all,

Joined the forum because I recently received a Sunn 100s Head and I'm having a bit of trouble with it.

I turn it on and it sounds awesome, until about a minute and a half after I turn it completely on. Then, it loses volume quickly and goes silent.

Replaced the Filter caps when I got it. What's yall's diagnosis?

-Matt

Offline EdBass

• Global Moderator
Re: 100s Help
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2012, 09:07:40 am »
It's pretty hard to diagnose via an internet forum, and the only proper answer would be to advise taking it to a qualified tech, but...

My first guess would be the filter caps, but those are new. Did you upgrade from the stock can cap?

Rectifier tube going bad?
Intermittent issue with the standby switch?
Bias supply issue, one or both of the 50uf 150V caps going south?

Keep in mind; I am NOT an Electrical Engineer, I just play one on the internet.

Offline Isaac

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2012, 12:01:36 pm »
I'm thinking a tube. Rectifier, preamp or splitter/inverter. That's the GZ34, 12AX7 and 6AN8 tubes, respectively.
Isaac

Offline loudthud

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2012, 06:49:19 pm »
I'd be looking for a bad solder joint that occured when the cap was replaced. Basic troubleshooting with a DVM checking for B+ in the preamp would confirm or eliminate a problem in that area.

NOTE: This is a dangerous procedure and should only be performed by trained persons.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 06:59:39 pm by loudthud »

Offline EdBass

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2012, 06:34:01 am »
Regretfully mattelliott2 hasn't checked back in since a few minutes after posting the question so we may never find out what it actually was causing the issue.
I was pretty curious, hopefully it wasn't just a "drive-by posting".

Offline mattelliott2

« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2012, 10:32:41 am »