Author Topic: 200S sounds funny  (Read 2570 times)

Offline play4zero

200S sounds funny
« on: December 06, 2010, 02:12:41 pm »
I just bought a 68 200S that had supposedly been gone through however, it just doesn't sound right.  I initially plugged the speaker connection into the 16 ohm spot (it's an 8 ohm) and when I touched the connector I got a shock.  After switching it to the 8 ohm socket i started playing through it, but it was quite distorted and the sound was attenuated (similar to what one would experience switching from roundwounds to flatwounds).  Any ideas as to what the problem might be?  I didn't touch the connector again with the power turned on to see if I would get another hit from the 8 ohm socket.

Offline loudthud

• Global Moderator
Re: 200S sounds funny
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 04:28:37 pm »
What speaker cabinet are you trying to use? If it's a 4x10 that usually needs a 500 watt head, it's not going to sound good with a 60W tube amp. You should always try an amp with your speaker cabinet before you hand over your money. What kind of bass are you using? High output active basses will easily overload a tube amp. Try a passive bass like a Fender Precision or Jazz.

As to the shock issue, read up on how to use a polaity switch:

http://sunn.ampage.org/sdp/index.php/topic,4632.0.html

Offline play4zero

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2010, 07:07:04 pm »
Thank you. I was using an Eden D115XLT cab with a Fender reissue 57 P-Bass.  It had sounded better before.  One suggestion was to replace the rectifier tube.  The tech claims that he used a 5U4 because of its milder characteristics.  I just asked on another thread about the possibility of using the groove tubes solid state rectifier tube replacement and what that does to the sound quality.

Offline play4zero

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2010, 07:33:27 pm »