Author Topic: Sunn scepter head 1969 trem problem  (Read 9987 times)

Offline Baddog

Sunn scepter head 1969 trem problem
« on: April 17, 2011, 06:34:40 pm »
I have the schematic for the amp so I'm set there. I recaped  the amp and replaced the cap can with axial lead caps. I did the totum pole thing for the first filter stage and used 500v 20uf's for the rest . The voltages are a little high in the amp but that to be expected with the raise in wal voltage over the years. Mine has 6550's power tubes with trem and reverb...
The problem I'm having is I can hear the trem pulsing with no guitar signal running through the amp. It pulses with the volume turned all the way down.
Any ideas where to start lookingfor the problem or is their a fix for it?

Thanks
BD

I forgot to say I'm new to this discussion form and sunn amps. I have a 72 fender twin , peavey mace 1/2 stack , crate vc50 3x10 , 72 bassman head and a bunch of mongrel amps I've built from old organ and tone cabinet amplifiers .
« Last Edit: April 18, 2011, 08:36:41 am by EdBass »

Offline Ryan Phelps

Re: Sunn scepter head 1969 trem problem
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 11:27:57 am »
Baddog,
Try replacing the three capacitors in the trem circuit. Two are 1 uf and one is 2 uf and they are wired in series. These are often the problem with trem 'ticking" in Fender amps, so it's worth a try.

Good Luck!
Ryan

Offline Baddog

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 11:57:43 am »
I'M having the problem in my sunn amp. Where you referring to the fender or the sunn trem? 

Thanks
Bd

Offline Soundmasterg

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2011, 11:25:24 pm »
I'M having the problem in my sunn amp. Where you referring to the fender or the sunn trem?  

Thanks
Bd