Author Topic: New to the group, question about Beta Lead output problem  (Read 2500 times)

Offline engineco16

New to the group, question about Beta Lead output problem
« on: April 16, 2023, 03:19:58 pm »
I'm new to the group. I've had my Sunn Beta Lead since 1978 and I recently started playing again. I've been building a new pedalboard and the other day I had the amp on a clean setting and I was getting a little breaking up, this is where I screw up. So I decided to check the 45 year old speaker for any resistance and my finger goes thru the paper. Not the end of the world so I bought two news Celestion Seventy 80 8 ohm speakers, awesome! Not so much, I clean everything up, put the amp back into its enclosure, connect the speakers, no sound. I tried everything I could think of, nothing, but the speakers work when I plugged them into another amp. So I'm lost right now, can I connect alligator clips to an output jack and connect another speaker, or how can I tell if the amp is working. Thanks in advance.

Offline loudthud

• Global Moderator
Re: New to the group, question about Beta Lead output problem
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2023, 07:18:48 pm »
On the back of your amp, find a jack marked "Power Amp Line In". Plug you guitar in there. You should get some low level sound through the speakers if they are properly connected to the amp. There are two more jacks marked "From Accessory". Those should work the same. These jacks have switch contacts that send the signal through when nothing is plugged in. The contacts become corroded when not used. Inserting a plug several times will usually "wake up" or refresh the switch contacts. A small amount of contact cleaner could be used, but you would have to open the amp to apply it properly.

To avoid this problem you would need short patch cables like the ones used on a pedal board and connect from the "To Accessory" to the "From Accessory" jacks or from the "Master Line Out" to the "Power Amp Line In" jacks.