Author Topic: SUNN vs. HIWATT  (Read 6434 times)

Offline jjmoreno

SUNN vs. HIWATT
« on: July 01, 2008, 06:06:02 am »
I have 2 Hiwatt dr-103 heads a 76, and a 78

I recently bought a 1974 Sunn Model T and it isn't as glassy, clean and chimey as the hiwatts. Seems like it has less headroom also. Anyone know the difference between the 6550s and el-34s. Seems to have a rounder clean tone but can't get past 3-4 on the gain and master for clean.

Thinking about buying a hiwatt dr-201 w/ 6550s and an HH IC100s head.
What are the differences in all of these, anyone know?

Bob from eurotubes claims the Sunns have more kickass???

http://myspace.com/jjmethadrone

Offline EdBass

• Global Moderator
Re: SUNN vs. HIWATT
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2008, 09:57:20 pm »
I am a Sunn-O-Phile by nature, but also am a huge fan of vintage Hiwatt gear. I was at the Hiwatt convention this past weekend, not a Sunn in sight but Hiwatt amps everywhere. I have extensive experience with both amps, and I think that the amps share many attributes. Compared to the majority of tube instrument amps, both brands are very Hi-Fi, both are very loud, both stay relatively clean at high volume, but they have different tonal characteristics.
Here's how they sound to me;
Hiwatts are usually characterized by the term "Chimey", they have a pleasing but distinctly glassy ring to their tone, and stay clean at volume levels that would have most other tube amps screaming for mercy.
Sunns are generally warmer and richer sounding, a more mid range presence, equally pleasing to the ear but different.
I think the Hiwatts have more headroom watt for watt, but both Sunn and Hiwatt are high headroom amps compared to the masses.

The differences are more in the circuit than the actual tubes, if you take a 6550 out of a Sunn and put it in a Hiwatt, it will still sound like a Hiwatt and vice versa.
By the way, DR201's came/still come with KT88's not 6550's, which ever you use is just a matter of taste.