Author Topic: Please help with a 100s  (Read 3347 times)

Offline mrelliott

Please help with a 100s
« on: September 13, 2010, 11:10:07 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Sunn and this forum and have a few questions for you guys.

I am attempting to repair a 1967 Sunn 100s (no reverb). I dated it and all the like, but I am confused as to why it may be acting up.

To diagnose: The amp is still two prong, and when I plug it in and turn it on, there is a buzz/hum. I'm actually not sure if I would describe it as a buzz or hum, but more like something in between. I understand how amps work (I built a D*mble clone  :-D ) but I am lost on why its buzzing while the amp is in standby. It also is known to shock, and I'm pretty sure nothing has been replaced or updated.

I attemped to look up schematics for it, but the values of everything do not match.

If you gurus have any ideas, feel free to chime in.

Offline HRobert

Re: Please help with a 100s
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2010, 06:06:50 am »
The amp probably needs a good going through by a qualified technition.  First I'd have the power cord switched over to a 3 prong grounded and have the polarity disabled.  If it's a 67 it is probably need to have the capacitors replaced.  I have a 67 Sentura II and that, plus some new tubes and a re-bias worked wonders.

Offline mrelliott

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2010, 06:56:00 am »
Thanks a lot for the help, I did a little bit of fiddling last night and feel like I could fix it. If not, I'll just do the most I can before giving up and handing the reigns to someone else.

Could the shocking and buzz/hum be from the filter caps, I know they usually need to be replaced, but I can't help but think that something could be really wrong if its buzzing while in standby. That almost seems like PT problem to me.

Any advice?

Offline mckinnon audio

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2010, 06:56:41 am »
   Hi there,is this "buzzing" coming from the spkrs. when the amp is in stnby ?