Author Topic: Model T + 8x10 Ampeg cab = ?  (Read 3010 times)

Offline elvis_bucklehorse

Model T + 8x10 Ampeg cab = ?
« on: May 29, 2003, 02:26:07 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm new to the Sunn clan.  Just acquired a '73 Model T with the original KT-88s in it.  I was told the tubes were rated fairly low, but much to my surprise they apparently still had enough juice in 'em to fry my 2x12 VHT cabinet in about 20 mins.  (It's true what they say about blowing speakers--they really did sound incredibly sweet just before they bit the dust...)

Anyway, now I need a cabinet.  This is a question that's probably been asked about a million times but the Search feature is a bit too unwieldy to give me the answer I'm looking for.  Can anyone out there recommend a good cabinet match for my Model T?  I'm using it in a fairly massive sounding space rock band and just today was toying with the notion of pairing it up with an 8x10 Ampeg bass cab (there's one for sale locally and it's reasonably priced).  Would that be ill-advised?  I'm not interested in being stupidly loud at the expense of sounding good...

Thanks in advance,

Ted

Offline coliseumboy

« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2003, 05:04:11 pm »
Would this be for Guitar or Bass??????????

Joel
(another)

Anonymous

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2003, 05:38:51 pm »
Ah!  Crucial information.  This is for guitar.  Mainly a '71 SG.  That's why the notion of buying a bass cabinet is a bit of a question mark.  Do you reckon a bass cabinet would have a detrimental effect on my tone?

Offline coliseumboy

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2003, 05:51:10 pm »
It would definently have balls with a bass cab. you might want to go and take the head with you when you go to check out this cab and test it out and play it by ear. because those 8x10 cabs should handel 300 watts easiy, and the "T" is only around 100 so you should be ok. also what year is the 8x10 cab?

Joel
(another)

Anonymous

« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2003, 06:13:39 pm »