Author Topic: JBL K 140 on ebay?  (Read 1733 times)

Offline otterfunk

JBL K 140 on ebay?
« on: June 28, 2005, 10:57:48 am »
Hey everybody.  I'm brand new, just registered, but I've been using this board as a source of information for a while.  About a month ago I found an old ('69 I believe) 200S in a local music store.  I got the head and the folded horn cabinet together for $360.  The head will need some work to really sound good--needs new caps and tubes.  I'm a complete novice w/electronics, just learning, so it's a long term project, but I'm excited about it.  

Anyway, getting to the topic at hand--I opened up the cab and found it to loaded with Pyle Driver car stereo speakers (blah).  So I've been checking out ebay to find decent replacements.  Seems like the D140s are out of my price range, so I've been looking at K140s as an alternative.  I understand that it's important to get one that's original or reconed with a real JBL kit, but a lot of ebay sellers don't seem to know if the speakers they are selling have been reconed or not.  I emailed the guy selling this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7331976155&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1 and he has no idea.  

Can anyone offer any advice as to how I might tell if a speaker is the real deal before I buy it?  Should I just take a gamble?  I'm sort of on a budget.  

Thanks,
Todd

Offline EdBass

• Global Moderator
JBL K 140 on ebay?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2005, 02:16:11 am »