Author Topic: Late 60's Sunn Spectrum II  (Read 8198 times)

Offline Curran Tone

• Curran Tone Custom Amps
Late 60's Sunn Spectrum II
« on: December 28, 2009, 12:32:32 pm »
Ok so I've recently acquired a late 60's? ('silverface') Sunn Spectrum II Head. I found it in the basement of the guitar shop I work at here in Westfield Mass. Looks to me like someone put a 12ax7 or something else wrong into the 6an8 tube socket, successfully lighting up all the circuitry around that tube all the way down the negative feedback loop. This thing is black and smells like a good electronics fire.

So I have a few different versions of the schematic, one from 1967 and one from 1969 for both the 100S and Spectrum II. I'm a 22year old Guitarist/Teacher/Tech., and I need to prove myself to everyone around here that I know what I'm doing so I can start designing,building,repairing,selling top quality vintage style point to point tube amps.

I'm planning on changing all the sockets for new ceramic ones, I'm assuming the PT,OT, and choke are all OK. I'm going to rebuild and reinforce the negative feedback look with a 1k5w ceramic resistor instead of the 1k1w CC resistor that literally split in half, and the rest of the burnt stuff will be replaced with high grade replacements also. Luckily none of the original Black Cat signal caps were harmed. I'm replacing some polystyrene caps with new ones of the same type, trying to keep it as original looking/sounding as possible.

One of my big concerns is the 30uf/20uf/20uf/20uf @525V can filter cap. I've heard 525V is not enough to handle the power from the PT, so I'm thinking of some individual 600V caps wired to terminal strips, too keep the original style inside the amp. I want to start with the 30uf and 3 20uf's, and listen before I change the cap values themselves.