Author Topic: Sunn Fan  (Read 3697 times)

Offline Ryan Phelps

Sunn Fan
« on: December 04, 1999, 01:04:00 am »
I just found this site via an auction listing on eBay and I'm excited to have found a site dedicated to Sunn amps! I grew up outside of Portland Oregon in the late 60's and Sunn amps were THE amps to have...cooler than Fender or Marshall! I'm an amp tech and collector with many fine Sunn amps in my collection. I just finished restoration of a 1969 2000S and a 1966 "Smiley Face". Both received new filter caps and tubes (Antique Electronic Supply in Tempe AZ carries Mallory multi-section can capacitors in the 525 volt rating for direct replacement of the original). The "Smiley Face" received Sovtek KT88's and I must say that this amp is a monster! Unimaginable bottom end and extreme power.....much more than you get from 6550's(New Sensor in New York carries several brands of KT88's and 6550's at great prices). For years I've felt that Sunn amps have been severely under-valued in the vintage amp market. Only recently have they been given the press attention they deserve (thanks to John Teagle)... reminding us of the position they once held, used by bands such as the Experience, the Who, the Beach Boys, Stones and many others. These amps were technically sophisticated and built like tanks!
I'm always looking to buy Sunn tube amps and especially for original Sunn speaker cabinets. E-mail me if you have any for sale. I also need a logo and handle to fit my "Smiley Face". Thanks to all you Sunn fans for a great discussion page!
Ryan

Offline mike

Sunn Fan
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 1999, 07:52:00 am »