Author Topic: just how crunchy should a 100s sound?  (Read 3171 times)

Offline aussie-sunn

just how crunchy should a 100s sound?
« on: October 17, 2001, 02:44:00 am »
Hi!

I'm new to the sunn world, having just picked up a 1967(i think) 100s non-reverb head whilst visiting Sydney last week (up from Melbourne).

The amp looks to be a close cousin of the one featured in the Sunn Museum... Mine is serial number 2741 (12 behind the one pictured). It is in resonably original condition, but has a new power tranny (thanks to a 240V conversion, I'm guessing).

It is currently has Sovtek KT88s in it and was supposedly serviced before I bought it. It is indeed pretty quiet (only a little crackle from the tone controls) and sounds great up till about 2 1/2 on the volume knob. above that, it gets really crunchy really quickly (a lot more than a nice, bluesy kind of crunch).

I've tried playing it through a single 8ohm 12" and a single 4ohm 15" (using the centre-most speaker jack for 8 ohms and the outermost for 4 ohms - not sure if this is correct because the sticker is gone and I haven't had time to open it up and see which OT taps are connected to which jack) and experienced the same thing in both cases.

It's just not producing anywhere near the volume that I understand these amps are legendary for... ie: it's nowhere near as loud as my bassman 100 (and yes, I know it's less powerful than the bassman - but there's a big discrepency), although sounding much sweeter and richer at lower volumes.

I'm guessing that there's something wrong with the amp because of how quickly the its sound deteriorates - but on the otherhand, am still amazed at how good it sounds when clean... (which is why I am a bit confused about whether there is actually something wrong or not).

Also love how flexible the tone controls are (especially the contour control)...